p Picks and Pecks: read: kitchen confidential

Thursday, August 18, 2011

read: kitchen confidential

Fans of Anthony Bourdain's A Cook's Tour or No Reservations will find the same sardonic wit in Kitchen Confidential. Bourdain's book is written in the self-deprecating, irreverent tone. While readers who have watched the series might actually find it a bit tiresome, Bourdain at least manages to inject a sense of down-to-earthiness (screw that, more like dirt slinging and dragging in the mud) into cooking. Recommended for anyone who has had enough of happy-crappy TV shows and books.



To be fair, he also approaches food very openly and without preconceptions. Despite seemingly years of chain-smoking he still manages to convey tastes to his audience. Plus, he likes durian. Anyone who likes durian has my vote.


Note: for those of you who wouldn't touch a book with a ten foot pole, there's a lite version. Check out Kitchen Confidential, the TV series with a Bradley Cooper who provides a bit more eye candy than Bourdain's smoke-and-alcohol dehydrated frame.